Krabbenhöft & Lampe Building
Luderitz | Namibia
In 1880 Friedrich Wilhelm Krabbenhöft established a trading business in the small town of Gibeon. In 1908 when diamonds were discovered in Kolmanskop, Krabbenhöft and Oskar Lampe decided to move their enterprise to Lüderitz.
The Krabbenhöft & Lampe Building combined both residential and commercial premises. The rafters and roof tiles were imported from Germany and the bricks were shipped from Cape Town. In the original plans it was proposed to use a third floor for accommodation but that unused storey is now the roof that features 5 prominent (dormer) windows.
The Official Gazette proclaimed that: 'This impressive building is an excellent example of the German Colonial architecture of the beginning of the 20th century. It was erected in 1909 and forms an integral part of the historic centre of Lüderitz'.
The Krabbenhöft & Lampe Building is situated on the corner of Berg and Bismarck Streets in Luderitz. It was proclaimed a national monument on 20th December 1979.
Well equipped & maintained self catering apartments on Shark Island
A unique and very popular bed & breakfast establishment on Shark Island
A prime sea-front location is complimented with sea facing rooms, a top class restaurant & a private beach
Budget accommodation & campsite on shark island
Luxury self catering holiday apartments